The African Studies Association’s Women’s Caucus of Book Prize Committee, invites you to nominate authors for the 2017 Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize for Scholarly Work according to the parameters laid out below.

The Aidoo-Snyder book prize is awarded by the Women’s Caucus of the African Studies Association for an outstanding book that prioritizes African women’s experiences. Named in honor of Ama Ata Aidoo, the celebrated Ghanaian novelist and short story writer, and Margaret Snyder the founding Director of UNIFEM, this $500 prize seeks to acknowledge the excellence of contemporary scholarship being produced by women about African women. In alternate years, the prize is awarded for the best scholarly book, or for the best creative work.

The 2017 Aidoo-Snyder book prize will be given for the best original scholarly work written by a woman (or women) that prioritize African women’s experience. To this end, the committee invites nominations from publishers or authors. Self-published books are not eligible, and entries may only be submitted for consideration once. The prize is open to authors who have published books in English and English translation with a 2015 and 2016 copyright date. Nominations must significantly deal with Africa (including Cape Verde, and the Islands off the West Coast of Africa; Madagascar; and the Indian Ocean Islands of the East African Coast).

To nominate a publication, please send one copy of the publication to each member of the committee:

Dr. Mojúbàolú Olufúnké Okome, Chair

Professor, Department of Political Science

3413 James Hall

Brooklyn College, CUNY

2900 Bedford Avenue

Brooklyn, NY 11210

Dr. Heidi J. Nast

Professor, International Studies Department

990 West Fullerton, Suite 4110

DePaul University

Chicago, IL 60614

Dr. Akosua Adomako Ampofo

P.O.Box CT 1124


Accra, Ghana

All nominations must be postmarked on or before June 30, 2017. The winner will be notified in mid-September and included in the program for the African Studies Association Conference in November 2017.